“The beauty within- Finding your natural beauty and loving it”-Part 3

Hello, my Dramatique fans!  It is time for part 3 of my miniseries, “The Beauty within- Finding your natural beauty and loving it.”

I would like to introduce ” Ash Wel” from my own hometown, Portland, OR!

Be sure to  read up on this fabulous inside view to modeling, and the pluses and negatives to the fashion world and how it effects our perception of ” Raw beauty” and get to know Ash  a seethe amazing modeling photos , followed by her ” raw ” photos with no makeup in her true and lovely form!Ash, why don’t you tell Us a bit about yourself, before we start  :

Image

Where do you live?

Outside of Portland, OR

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Northern Michigan and moved to Oregon in 6th grade, so I kind of grew up in both places!

Why are you pumped about this interview and its message?

I think its great for people to see how common it is to model and that there are real girls behind the photos in magazines. Also, I feel that it is good for people to see girls without makeup and to embrace that. I know that I start to get self conscious if I don’t have on my makeup, but this blog series is helping me to feel more comfortable about going makeup-less, and I hope it helps other people too. I’m an older sister and it has been sad for me to see how many of my sisters’ friends feel the need to wear makeup, and yet they’re only in middle school! I want to be a good example for my sisters and for other girls. 

What are some personal hobbies?

I like to hike, mountain bike, cross country ski, read, and knit. Also, I really enjoy taking photos of people and landscapes and then editing the photos. I enjoy being on the other side of the camera a lot of the time! 

Are you single or married?

I’m not married, but I am in a committed long term relationship. His family is already planning when the wedding date will be, so I think it is safe to say that things are pretty serious!

Thanks Ash!  Read below for her amazing interview!

Image

1.)    What’s your background in modeling? When and why did you get started?

I actually started my senior year of high school as a way to bring in more seniors for their senior pictures, and halfway through college (I’m a junior now) I had a strong desire to pursue modeling in a more professional way. I had help from Jeff Shanes (a fantastic photographer in Portland) who introduced me to the website Model Mayhem which helps me connect with a large variety of projects. I enjoy modeling because I can be creative while working with other people to create something beautiful or interesting. Once I have a stronger portfolio I am hoping to pursue more paid photo shoots, and see where it goes from there!

 

 

2.)    Who are some of your favorite models and designers, and why?

I really love seeing actresses as models, like Emma Stone and Jennifer Lawrence. They’re already really good at expressing themselves through facial expressions and body language and that comes across really well in photographs too. They also seem like nice, funny people! Alexander McQueen’s designs are absolutely drool worthy because they are classic with a twist, just amazing! His designs are what stand out to me in a “wow I could actually wear that” when I read fashion magazines, and I find that pretty respectable.

Image

*Photo credit – Carlos Landa – Fine Art Photography*

3.)    How would you describe your style? Consider anything and everything from color to historical eras and more

 My style is classic, with a lot of black cardigans and sweaters. I have been trying to be more strict with myself and only get things that are flattering and can be worn for multiple occasions. I like the idea of my clothes being classy looking and flattering more so than trendy. I don’t wear dresses and skirts very often because they’re difficult to manage throughout the day (as in, “better make sure it didn’t get tucked into my underwear!) so I wear jeans or leggings most of the time, with a nice shirt and a cute pair of boots. 

 

4.)     Do you feel that thinner models get a bad rap since they are not “ curvy and womanly”? Why?

I think in the modeling world, thinner models are preferred, because of how the camera makes people look. However, in real life, I think that thin girls may get negative attention for their shape, but I think it usually stems from concern, not so much from judgement. “Curvy” girls seem to get more of the sexy shoots and thinner models are seen more in high fashion shoots, but I really think that both looks work for any shoot. I think that what is most important is how a girl views herself, because there’s always going to be one person who doesn’t like your look for whatever reason, but their opinion doesn’t matter at all compared to how one views him or herself. It isn’t always easy to disregard the opinions of other people though. The quote, “You could be the juiciest ripest peach in the world, but there is still gonna be somebody who hates peaches.”-Dita Von Teese, is one I read that I think applies a lot to the modeling world and to everyday life as well. 

Image

5.)    How can we, as a society, inspire young girls to feel beautiful? Do you feel the modeling world effects these young girls?

 Speaking from personal experience and some of my psychology knowledge (I’m a psych major!), I think adults, especially women, shouldn’t critique their appearance around young girls. When a little girl grows up hearing her mom, aunts, friend’s moms, etc, saying negative things about their bodies, she would learn that that’s how she should also look at herself. Then, as a girl sees photo-shopped models who seem unattainable and perfect, the negative self image is reinforced. I really believe that the artificiality of ads can be detrimental to everyone, male, female, young or old. In order to build young boys and girls up, I think that showing healthy, happy people of all sizes and races in advertisements would be a big step.

Image

6.)    What , in your opinion is something negative you’ve experienced in the modeling world? How about positive?

I don’t know about negative, but something that can be frustrating is trying to nail down a schedule, location, theme and wardrobe with a photographer. Trying to coordinate everything can be stressful. Also, because of my height (5’4″) I was turned down by an agency, which initially upset me, but I have been really enjoying the shoots I’ve gotten to do instead. The positive thing about modeling is, of course, seeing the end result, but also getting to meet new people who have all (so far, knock on wood) been incredibly nice and patient, as well as passionate about their photography. 

 

7.)     How has modeling changed other aspects of your life?

Modeling hasn’t caused any huge changes other than scheduling things around a photo shoot, which means I’ve been busier! I have met a lot more people than I would have, and that has been a lot of fun. A lot of my friends and family thought I would have worse self esteem by pursuing modeling, but I feel that I’ve gained more confidence because I have said no to shoots that would go against my values, and if a photographer doesn’t like my look, I’ve been learning to not take it personally. 

Image

8.)    What is your fashion mantra and why?

My fashion mantra is “classic and flattering”. I’m not always on top of the latest trend, I prefer to have clothes that work for many months or years. Clothes can be an investment, so I think its important to have clothes that can last a long time and look good! 

Looking to book Ash? Find her on Model mayhem @  http://www.modelmayhem.com/3147291

 

2 thoughts on ““The beauty within- Finding your natural beauty and loving it”-Part 3

  1. I am really enjoying this mini series! If only all children could be shown the value of inner beauty they would see that it shines through to the outside.
    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

